The Silver Beaver Award

Silver Beaver knot patchSilver Beaver Medal

From the beginnings of Scouting in Frederick County, many Francis Scott Key District Scouters have been honored with the coveted Silver Beaver award, the highest award that a Scout Council can present for service on the Council level. The first recipient was Dr. Ignatius Bjorlee and those that followed soon after included Harold Chichester and Rev. William Carson Royal. Naturally the list of Silver Beaver recipients reads like a Who’s Who of Scouters in Frederick County. 

1939Dr. Ignatius Bjorlee
1940Harold Chichester
1941Rev. William Carson Royal
1946Charles R. Utterback
1953Richard Hammond
1954Niemann A. Brunk
1956Dr. William G. Roessler
1957Rev. J. F. Minor Simpson
1958F. Russell Young
1960Rev. William M. Weaver
1961Dr. Charles. C. Broadrup
1962Fred W. Shaffer
1963George J. Barthel
1964Grayson B. Haller
1965Lt. Col. Lester L. Holmes
1966Henry B. Wilson
1967Alan M. Miller
1969Rodney Willard
1970Charles A. Glick
1970Robert H. Wilson
1971Rev. H. Austin Cooper
1972Donald G. Schley
1973Elizabeth C. Johnson*
1973Everett R. Johnson
1974Lillie Stansbury*
1974Dannie G. Stansbury
1975Charles E. Stup
1976Erwin Eddy
1976Robert S. Pearsall, Jr.
1977Shirley King
1978Robert A. Rosensteel, Jr.
1979Norman Feldser
1980E. Paul Schelling
1980Chester C. Staley, Sr.
1981Samuel H. Mullen
1982Richard U. Comstock
1983J. Pinoake Browning
1983J. Allen Wallace, Jr.**
1984Norman M. Covert
1985John Ruppel
1986Harry N. Burns
1986Robert L. Humphrey
1987Dr. Robert R. Rosato
1988Stuart L. Gunter
1990Joseph Davis
1992Samuel Jones*
1995Brannon Thompson
1999William R. Ingram
1999Linda Sundergill
1999Jim Sundergill
2001Timothy “Vic” Barker**
2002George Delaplaine
2003H. H. “Jim” Robbins
2003Richard Golling
2006Jane Redding**
2007Chuck Harris**
2008Diane Henson
2008Shawn Youngberg
2008George Wunderlich**
2008Peter Bladen**
2009Fred Broadrup
2009Dr. Steven Vaughn
2010James Eaton Sr.**
2011Phillip Ramsey **
2011Ron Layman
2012Mike Turrell**
2012Tom Wheatley**
2013Bill Desmond
2013Paul Smith
2014Chris Bohanan
2017Roy “Rick” Rogers
2017Nicholas Maliszewskyj
2018Damon Allen
2018Kurt Yankaskas
2018Zeke Zaralla
2021Jeffrey Geyer
2022David Bloxsom
2023Lola Arjona