Cub Scouts

Refer to the guide to Cub Scouting on

Scouts BSA

ADVANCEMENT: Information regarding rank advancement, including information on scouts with special needs, Eagle rank applications and forms, and BSA advancement guidelines and Scoutbook, is available here.

For Life Scouts working on their life to Eagle path, information specific to the Life-to-Eagle journey is available here.

MERIT BADGE COUNSELORS: Scouts who are interested in finding a list of Merit Badge Counselors who will work with scouts outside their unit should get a list of counselors from their unit leader. Your unit leader can find that list here.

NATIONAL YOUTH LEADERSHIP TRAINING (NYLT): NYLT is an advanced training program for scouts aged 14 and above who are interested in developing their leadership skills. NYLT Graduates often go on to be Senior Patrol Leaders and to lead Venture, Sea Scout and Explorer units. The program is typically offered over two weekends during the winter and as week-long camps during the summer. See the NCAC main page for details.

HIGH ADVENTURE: NCAC provides information on high adventure programs available to scouts, and usually leads provisional crews to the major high adventure bases (Philmont, Sea Base and Northern Tier) each summer. Details on High Adventure programs are available here.   

Venturing, Sea Scouts, and Explorers

VENTURING: Venture crews are open to youth age 14-20 who are interested in a more advanced outdoor program. Information is available at 

SEA SCOUTS: Do you dream of sailing the Caribbean?  Exploring the Canadian waters in a kayak?  Swimming a coral reef? Traveling the canals of Venice? Spending the weekend racing FJ sailboats, always on the edge of a spectacular ending?  Do you imagine a scout unit with their own jet boat?  Then you’re ready to be a Sea Scout! Find information about Sea Scout Ships at

EXPLORERS: Exploring is a career-education program for young men and women ages 10-20. It’s about helping young adults make a more informed decision about future careers and determine if a particular career is the right one for them.

Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting’s national honor society. Scouts from the National Capital Area Council who are inducted into the Order of the Arrow become members of Amangamek-Wipit Lodge #470, an organization offering outdoor adventure and service opportunities. Information on the OA is available here.