Mobile Menu


Welcome to Powhatan! This section of the website provides information, resources and assistance for Scouts, Unit Leaders, Parents and the communities of Chantilly, Great Falls, Herndon, Oakton, and Reston.  Visit here to learn what is happening in Scouting in your community.

The Latest!

Fairfax County Watershed Cleanup – April 6-20

The Nature Conservancy and Fairfax County Park Authority need volunteers to clean up your watershed!  Help keep trash and debris out of waterways that flow into the Chesapeake BayWe need 1,000 volunteers to help us cover 21 parks! This is a great opportunity for a unit or an individual scout who needs service hours or wants to boost their Journey to Excellence. A unit can earn a Conservation Good Turn (but not a Hornaday Unit award because it doesn’t meet the criteria)

Registration and more information: Fairfax County Watershed Cleanup

When:   April 6, April 13, April 20
Where:  various Fairfax County parks

Welcoming Girls to BSA – Update

With the launch of Family Scouting in February, new troops are forming and plans are being made to welcome girls in the the Scouts BSA program.  Check out this blog post for the BSA-recommended ways to discuss and promote this new program.  Read More…

District Webelos Crossover Cancelled

Please address questions to your pack leadership and the Troops you are joining for the timing and arrangements for Pack crossover ceremonies

Outdoor Ethics Orientation Course

The course is suitable for scouters and mature scouts. We hope as many units as possible are able to send at least 2 scouts and 1 scouter; this will allow your unit to have youth & adult members qualified to lead Outdoor Ethics at all outdoor events and help your scouts & scouters complete some of the requirements to earn the Outdoor Ethics award for Scouts or NCAC award for Cub Scouts

By the end of the class, the participants should have knowledge of:
-Outdoor Ethics
-Outdoor Code
-How Leave No Trace, Tread Lightly! and The Land Ethic / Stewardship support the Outdoor Code
-Outdoor Ethics Awareness and Action Awards Program

March 7, 2019 at 7:30
Vale United Methodist Church, 11528 Vale Rd, Oakton, VA 22124

Details & register here:

Featured Resources

Cold Weather Camping

Are you getting ready for some winter camping or other cold weather outdoor activities?  Check out this post for some tips to help Scouts keep themselves warm! Read More…

Polar Bears Unite!

To encourage winter camping, and reward Scouts that brave the cold for an awsome winter adventure (while strengthening independence and ability to be prepared), NCAC has create a brand new Polar Bear Patch. Units can determine their own requirements for earning the Polar Bear and award their Scouts at the end of a campout, or at the next Court of Honor. [ Click Here ]

Bet You Have Some Great Ideas!

Got an idea of what you’d like to see on our website?  Do you have useful content to share?  Send a note to