Goose Creek District Award of Merit

About the Award

The District Award of Merit is awarded by the Goose Creek District to volunteer and professional adults for service to youth in the District.  This is the highest award that is given to a Scouter at the District level and is also the only “non-square knot” in the knot award group.  The District Award of Merit is available to Scouters and registered adults in the BSA who have rendered service of an outstanding nature within the district.  The Award is a council award presented by the district in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils.  The award is made available annually on the basis of one for each 25 units in the district (or fraction thereof).  The district need not present all of the awards to which it is entitled each year.  The Award of Merit selection committee, appointed each year by the district chairman, is composed of distinguished, dedicated, and knowledgeable Scouters drawn from throughout the community.  Each member has previously received the Award of Merit.

Past Recipients

2022 – 2023

Tim Ashley, Rob Winter

2021 – 2022


2020 – 2021

Sue Breen, Shawn Carroll, Charles Thornton

2019 – 2020James G. Bonfils, Robert Kellogg, Jason Beshore, John Nelson
2018 – 2019Michael Capell, Pete Jones, Rob Painter, Sara Philips, John Witek
2017 – 2018Tom Hill, Dallas Cecil, Jason Stripling, Mohammad Ahsan Ullah, David Weitzel
2016 – 2017Hal Raffensperger, W. Alexander Williams
2015 – 2016Kevin Noll, Claudia Wolfson
2014 -2015Deanna Solomon, Deborah Wintermute, Steve Wolfson
2013 – 2014Rizwan Jaka
2012 – 2013Sam Freeman, Stacey Noll, Roberta “Bobbie” Scales
2011 – 2012Dave Carty, Rumsey Light, Kevin Lowell
2010 – 2011John Blackwell, Brad Scales, Norm Bird, Mike Sierra, Priscilla Martinez, Dee Lloyd
2009 – 2010Tom Hayes, Ahmed Qureshi, Steve Hess, Brian Kale, Michael Orsinger
2008 – 2009Tonia Chagnon, Walt Johnson, Dan Henkel, Ken Yancey, Scott Bashore
2007 – 2008Randy Minchew, Chuck Burkett, John Ford, Ernie Smith, Jerry Hiller
2006 – 2007Keith Hudson, Michael Korrigan, Margaret Nielsen, Alan Tanner
2005 – 2006Paul Christensen, TJ Shuff
2004 – 2005Bill Cavanaugh, Tom Inman, Earl Wells
2003 – 2004Cindy Connell, Lou Noon, Tom Noon, Kurt Struder
2002 – 2003Darwin Bingham, Brian Shiflet, Alan Steiner, Roxanne Tyra
2001 – 2002Dale Cabanis, Tom Kuehn, Drew Mrenna, Wayne Nielsen
2000 – 2001Cheri Berman, Anne Geiger, David Parker
1999 – 2000John Harris, Wayne Lee, Tom Zedan
1998 – 1999Steve Holmstrand, Gary Stolz, Barbara Yarbrough