Charter Renewal

The 2022 Charter Renewal Handbook is your guide to the annual recharter process. With the assistance of your unit commissioner, this booklet will lead your unit step by step through rechartering your unit.

2022 Charter Renewal Handbook – Final

Before beginning Internet Rechartering, read the handbook above, collect all member information. To start the recharter processes, click on the link below. 

Advancements.scouting.org

NCAC Recharter Training Presentations

Charter Renewal update will be provided when received from the developers at National.

Charter renewal dates and time period

Units begin Charter renewal in August and September.  Units begin data input into Internet Advancement on 15 October and submit electronically no later than 23 October.

Charter renewal package submittal procedure

Please submit your charter renewal application electronic file along with all additional documentation (YPT Certificates, CBC forms and any applications) directly to the Council Registrar once the Charter Representative approves it.  It is recommended that you pay by e-check ($1.00 service charge) or a unit check to the Council office.  If paying by a check turn that in to the Unit Commissioner or District Executive.  Print your Charter Renewal Application for your unit files.  You do not need to turn-in a printed copy to Council.

PLEASE DO NOT  take packages to the Marriott Scout Service Center!  This only delays the processing of your charter.

When the registrar processes charters for the new charter year, unit and member expiration dates are updated in Organization Manager of my.scouting.org.

District charter renewal points of contact

District

Recharter POC

Email

Phone

Potomac

George Gadbois

george.gadbois@siemens.com

301-440-9248

Seneca

Gordon Henley

ghenley2@gmail.com

301-943-9713

White Oak

Mike Holder

thedukeholder@verizon.net

301-460-4935

Francis Scott Key

David Roberson

fskcommissioner@gmail.com

301-802-4835

Patuxent

Carolyn Miller

twinlight.2000@gmail.com

301-455-8761

Western Shore

Mike Floyd

commishfloyd@gmail.com

757-739-6740

US Virgin Island

Dylan Smith

dylansmith12a@gmail.com

340-773-0422

Goose Creek

Scott Bashore

scott.bashore@goosecreekdistrict.org

571-294-5618

Powhatan

John Colwell

ScouterJohnPowhatan@gmail.com

703-395-4118

Sully

Dave Weisz

david.weisz@verizon.net

703-395-4426

Aquia

John Patrick

acc4recharter@gmail.com

540-809-8337

Mattaponi

David Bennett

benito371@yahoo.com

540-845-0407

Prince William

Chuck Wilkinson

wilkinson9394@gmail.com

703-677-7832

Piedmont

Rich Baker

rd_baker@comcast.net

540-219-7195

Chain Bridge

Glen Johnson

johnson.glenh@gmail.com

202-340-4394

Colonial

Linda Hill

Lhill@diabetes.org

571-239-1741

George Mason

Hector Uranga

hector_uranga@verizon.net

703-847-4788

Old Dominion

Chris Cooper

christopher@cooper3000.com

703-200-1438

Patriot

Lee Cass

scouting@lensmen.org

703-690-4528

Washington, DC

Max Behrens

mhbehr.bsa@gmail.com

651-492-1469

Direct Service

Gary Garay

garayg@yahoo.com

540-318-7553

 

Unit rechartering forms

The following forms are available to assist units in the rechartering process.

The latest youth, adult, and transfer applications are downloadable at
scouting.org/forms

2021 JTE forms are at https://www.scouting.org/awards/journey-to-excellence/unit/

Forms for ALL Traditional Units – Packs, Troops, Teams, Crews, Ships

Exploring renewal forms