Mobile Menu

Past District Award of Merit Scouters

The District Award of Merit is awarded by the Goose Creek District to volunteer and professional adults for service to youth in the District.  This is the highest award that is given to a Scouter at the District level and is also the only “non-square knot” in the knot award group.  The District Award of Merit is available to Scouters and registered adults in the BSA who have rendered service of an outstanding nature within the district.  The Award is a council award presented by the district in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils.  The award is made available annually on the basis of one for each 25 units in the district (or fraction thereof).  The district need not present all of the awards to which it is entitled each year.  The Award of Merit selection committee, appointed each year by the district chairman, is composed of distinguished, dedicated, and knowledgeable Scouters drawn from throughout the community.  Each member has previously received the Award of Merit.

District Award of Merit recipients are typically recognized at the Goose Creek District’s Annual District Meeting and Recognition Dinner.

2018 – 2019 Michael Capell, Pete Jones, Rob Painter, Sara Philips, John Witek
2017 – 2018 Tom Hill, Dallas Cecil, Jason Stripling, Mohammad Ahsan Ullah, David Weitzel
2016 – 2017 Hal Raffensperger, W. Alexander Williams
2015 – 2016 Kevin Noll, Claudia Wolfson
2014 -2015 Deanna Solomon, Deborah Wintermute, Steve Wolfson
2013 – 2014 Rizwan Jaka
2012 – 2013 Sam Freeman, Stacey Noll, Roberta “Bobbie” Scales
2011 – 2012 Dave Carty, Rumsey Light, Kevin Lowell
2010 – 2011 John Blackwell, Brad Scales, Norm Bird, Mike Sierra, Priscilla Martinez, Dee Lloyd
2009 – 2010 Tom Hayes, Ahmed Qureshi, Steve Hess, Brian Kale, Michael Orsinger
2008 – 2009 Tonia Chagnon, Walt Johnson, Dan Henkel, Ken Yancey, Scott Bashore
2007 – 2008 Randy Minchew, Chuck Burkett, John Ford, Ernie Smith, Jerry Hiller
2006 – 2007 Keith Hudson, Michael Korrigan, Margaret Nielsen, Alan Tanner
2005 – 2006 Paul Christensen, TJ Shuff
2004 – 2005 Bill Cavanaugh, Tom Inman, Earl Wells
2003 – 2004 Cindy Connell, Lou Noon, Tom Noon, Kurt Struder
2002 – 2003 Darwin Bingham, Brian Shiflet, Alan Steiner, Roxanne Tyra
2001 – 2002 Dale Cabanis, Tom Kuehn, Drew Mrenna, Wayne Nielsen
2000 – 2001 Cheri Berman, Anne Geiger, David Parker
1999 – 2000 John Harris, Wayne Lee, Tom Zedan
1998 – 1999 Steve Holmstrand, Gary Stolz, Barbara Yarbrough