Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Website Issues   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Council News

Twenty-two Volunteers Named to 2014 Silver Beaver Class

Tuesday, February 04, 2014   (0 Comments)
Share |

For their distinguished service to youth around the council, NCAC has selected 22 volunteers to receive the prestigious Silver Beaver award. As the highest Scouting award given at the local council level, the Silver Beaver recognizes volunteers for consistent, dedicated service to the area’s youth, both in and out of Scouting, over their tenure as a volunteer.

This year’s class includes educators, engineers, and retired servicemen representing counties from across the Council. The class honoree is Frederick "Rick” Hillenbrand, an engineer with two post graduate naval engineering degrees from MIT. Hillenbrand has served in many volunteer roles in NCAC, including as Council Commissioner, Vice President for Mission Impact, and a member of the executive board. A Silver Beaver recipient himself, one of Hillenbrand’s most memorable opportunities "to serve” Scouting was when he organized the Eagle Scout honor guard at the World War II memorial for President Gerald Ford’s funeral.

The members of the Rick Hillenbrand 2014 Silver Beaver Class are:

· Bruce G. Andersen

· James Andrew Ashe

· Alvin "Chip” S. Black, III

· Christopher Curt Bohanan

· Thurman Brooks

· John Brown, Jr.

· Laura Grant Buckner

· Roger Eliot Claff

· William T. Dexter, Jr.

· Glen Andrew Grady

· Susan Krup Grunin

· Richard S. Holcomb

· Allison Hoopes

· Michael Anthony Nepi

· Hugh Redd

· Michael Reep

· Duane R. Schoenhardt

· James E. Smith

· Kurt L. Struder

· James Steven Thomas

· Carroll A. Weimer, Jr.

· Arden Widmann

They will be recognized at the council’s Court of Honor dinner on Thursday, April 3 at the Crystal Gateway Marriott. More information and tickets are available at

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal/Privacy