Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Website Issues   |   Sign In   |   Register
Districts: Powhatan
Group Pages

Scouting In the Powhatan District


The Powhatan District follows the aims of Scouting and provides opportunities for boys with many different needs and interests. We offer a variety of packs, troops and crews to meet the diverse needs of our Scouts.

Area and Communities Served:
The Powhatan District covers Northwest Fairfax County, VA and includes: Great Falls, Herndon, Reston, Chantilly, Oak Hill and Oakton north of Route 50. The district borders to the north is the Potomac River, to the west by Route 28,  to the south by Route 50 and I-66, and on the east by Hunters Mill Road and Difficult Run.

Number of Units: 95
Number of Scouts: ~4350

 

District Roundtable:
Cub Scout, Boy Scout, and Venturing Leaders 2nd Thursday at 8:00 PM (except July). The location for Roundtable is The Church of the Latter Day Saints, 2727 Centreville Rd., Herndon, VA.


District Committee Meetings:
4th Thursday, 7:00 PM (except June, July, November and December due to holiday conflicts.)

District Commissioner's Meeting:
Prior to Roundtable at 7:00 P.M. at The Church of the Latter Day Saints, 2727 Centreville Rd., Herndon, VA.

How to Join or Help:
If you know of adult leaders in your unit that would be perfect to be a unit commissioner or assistant district commissioner, contact District Commissioner, 
Bill Stringham.

Scouter volunteers are also needed to spearhead a variety of activities on the district level. To suggest a Scouter in your unit or to volunteer yourself, please contact the Powhatan District Chairman,
Fred Rubin, 703-224-7219 Cell,  or any of the other members of the District Committee
There are several great positions available. Your district provides many programs and services for you, your unit and your Scout. Your district needs your enthusiasm and talent to continue to be successful!

Recently Updated Profiles
Cynthia Wallace, John Aucella, Paul Siebach, Sarah Chichester, Elizabeth Rockett, Susan Hogan, Jenny Taylor, Matthew Valleskey, Lori Newcomb, Joel White, Lyle Kellman, Ruth Holt, Natalie Fehervari, Jimmy Quaile, John Castleberry, Donald Fronczak, Alexander Cicchetto, Christian ORourke, Paul Volkman, Gregg H. Schwarz, James Vollmer, Thomas Elliott, David Cacner, Willard Sheridan Kramer, Rebecca Estrada, Powhatan District, Steven Carrigan, Thomas M. Persil, Inge Gedo, Carol Cass, Bruce Brown, Margaret Skelley, Dennis Hodges, John W. Lyver IV, Russell D. Housley, Mark E. Teare, Michael Cutler, Brenna Emery, Norman Laythe, Anthony Petruzzi, Andrew Loggia, Alexander Pilipowskyj, Christine M. Ressler, Gayle Allain, Shannon O'Boyle, George C. Sheflett Sr., Wayne Newcomb, Susan Keating, Vishnu Devarashetty, Nancy Jensen

Upcoming Events
Powhatan District Commitee Meeting
Thursday, April 24, 2014
STEM -USA Science & Engineering Festival Volunteering
Friday, April 25, 2014
Wood Badge
Friday, May 02, 2014
Cub Scout Leader-Specific Training
Saturday, May 03, 2014
Powhatan District Roundtable
Thursday, May 08, 2014
Scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmaster Leader Specific
Saturday, May 10, 2014
(Mother's Day)
Sunday, May 11, 2014
Powhatan District Commitee Meeting
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Powhatan 2014 Spring Camporee
Friday, May 30, 2014
Wood Badge
Friday, June 06, 2014
Powhatan District Roundtable
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmaster Leader Specific
Saturday, June 14, 2014
View Registrations »
(Father's Day)
Sunday, June 15, 2014
Algonkian Park Day Camp
Monday, June 23, 2014
Powhatan District Commitee Meeting
Thursday, June 26, 2014
(Ramadan)
Saturday, June 28, 2014
(Independence Day)
Friday, July 04, 2014
Powhatan District Commitee Meeting
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Powhatan District Roundtable
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Powhatan District Commitee Meeting
Thursday, August 28, 2014
(Labor Day )
Monday, September 01, 2014
Scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmaster Leader Specific
Saturday, September 13, 2014
(Rosh Hashanah)
Thursday, September 25, 2014
(Yom Kippur)
Friday, October 03, 2014
(Columbus Day)
Monday, October 13, 2014
(Halloween)
Friday, October 31, 2014
Scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmaster Leader Specific
Saturday, November 01, 2014
(End of Daylight Savings Time "Fall Back")
Sunday, November 02, 2014
(Veteran's Day)
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
(Thanksgiving)
Thursday, November 27, 2014
(Hanukkah)
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
(Christmas)
Thursday, December 25, 2014
(Kwanzaa)
Friday, December 26, 2014
(New Year's Day)
Thursday, January 01, 2015
(Dr. M.L. King Day)
Monday, January 19, 2015
(President's Day )
Monday, February 16, 2015
(Begin Daylight Savings Time "Spring Forward")
Sunday, March 08, 2015
College of Commissioner Science
Saturday, March 14, 2015
(Palm Sunday)
Sunday, March 29, 2015
(Passover)
Friday, April 03, 2015
(Easter)
Sunday, April 05, 2015
(Orthodox Easter)
Sunday, April 05, 2015
(Memorial Day)
Monday, May 25, 2015

Related Group News

NCAC Honors Enlisted Service Members
Posted in Council News, Thursday, October 31, 2013

Fifth Annual Scouting Salutes the Military Event Hosted on Capitol Hill Honors Exemplary Enlisted Members, Recognizes Meritorious ServiceSenator Jeff Sessions (R-AL) delivered keynote speechSenator Joe ... more »

2014 Exploring Participant Fee Increase
Posted in National News, Thursday, September 12, 2013

Exploring provides year-round positive interactive career experiences, and fellowship for youth. Exploring also provides unique growth opportunities at a great value. Occasionally, it is necessary for ... more »

Frederick County Explorers Post opens year with new awards incentive
Posted in Scouts in the News, Thursday, September 12, 2013

Sierra Coulbourne is one step closer to becoming a Frederick County sheriff's deputy and, eventually, an FBI agent. The 17-year-old from Mount Airy became a security ... more »

New MyScouting Tools Released!
Posted in National News, Wednesday, September 04, 2013

A second version of the new MyScouting Tools has been released for Key 3 unit and district volunteers on my.scouting.org. This release is an important ... more »

Membership Fee Increase in 2014 – UPDATED
Posted in Council News, Tuesday, September 03, 2013

National BSA Announces Registration Fee Increase to $24 Effective 1/1/2014  BSA's National Council has announced that in order to offset rising costs it has become necessary to ... more »

USVI Lt. Governor Teams with Scouts to Stem Crime
Posted in Council News, Friday, June 21, 2013

Lt. Governor Francis Supports Innovative Partnerships to Stem Crime Lieutenant Governor Gregory R. Francis recently hosted a meeting with top officials from the Virgin Islands Housing ... more »

Cub Scouts Rise to the Next Level
Posted in Scouts in the News, Friday, June 21, 2013

Cub Scouts Rise to the Next Level On Friday, June 7, Falls Church Cub Scout Pack 657 held its annual Bridging Ceremony in which scouts advance ... more »

 View All News »

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership.com®  ::  Legal/Privacy