Report Website Issue   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Programs: Order of the Arrow
Group Pages

Amangamek-Wipit Lodge #470

Amangamek-Wipit serves more than 4,500 Arrowmen in 23 chapters across District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and the US Virgin Islands. Our lodge is proud to be a part of the Northeast Region and Section NE-6A.

The Official Amangamek-Wipit Lodge Calendar is the best source for all Lodge and Chapter activities.

Important News:

Spring Induction Weekends

The Lodge is now beginning the Spring Induction season. Newly elected and current members may find the out when their Chapter (District) will hold their induction weekend, by visiting the Chapter Inductions Page. Follow the link to register with your Chapter. If no information is shown for your Chapter, they are still planning their event so check back.


Maryland Proclaims July 16 - Order of the Arrow Centennial Day

It’s official! Thursday, July 16, 2015 will be celebrated as “Order of the Arrow Centennial Day” in the State of Maryland. Governor Larry Hogan has signed a proclamation which details the importance of the Order of the Arrow’s 100th Anniversary and urges “all citizens to support this observance.”

Maryland’s Camp Linstead (1918 – 1944) played an important role in the early history of the Order of the Arrow, hosting the third annual meeting of the Grand Lodge, October 12 & 13, 1923.

Today there are six Order of the Arrow Lodges in the State of Maryland:

  • Nentico Lodge 12 of the Baltimore Area Council
  • Nentego Lodge 20 of the Del-Mar-Va Council
  • Octoraro Lodge 22 of the Chester County Council
  • Allohak Menewi Lodge 57 of the Laurel Highlands Council
  • Guneukitschik Lodge 317 of the Mason Dixon Council
  • Amangamek-Wipit Lodge 470 of the National Capitol Area Council

Copies of the Proclamation were delivered to the Scout Executive of each of these councils.


The State of Maryland


From the Governor of the State of Maryland

Order of the Arrow Centennial Day

July 16, 2015

Whereas, the Order of the Arrow was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson on July 16, 1915 at the Treasure Island Scout Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America; and

Whereas, the Wimachtendienk as it was then known, first expanded to Maryland in 1922 when the Baltimore Area Council was formally granted a charter on May 17, 1922, becoming the twelfth local lodge recognized, and inducting its first members, 6 scouts and 4 scout leaders on June 30, 1922 at Camp Linstead on the Severn River; and

Whereas the role of the Order of the Arrow within Scouting has evolved from official program experiment in 1922, to an approved part of the Scouting program in 1934, to recognition as the Boy Scouts of America’s national brotherhood of honor campers in 1948; and

Whereas, in 1998, the Order of the Arrow became recognized as Scouting's National Honor Society when it expanded its reach beyond camping to include a greater focus on leadership development, membership extension, adventurous programming, and broader service to Scouting and the community; and

Whereas, Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others; and

Whereas, for 100 years, the Order of the Arrow has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives and in doing so provide encouragement for others to live these ideals as well.


Now therefore I, Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr. Governor of the State of Maryland, do hereby proclaim July 16, 2015 as ORDER OF THE ARROW CENTENNIAL DAY in the State of Maryland do urge all citizens to support this observance.


Signed: Governor; Lt. Governor; Secretary of State





In honor of the Centennial celebration of the Order of the Arrow (OA) the Amangamek-Wipit Lodge 470 and the National Capital Area Council will host a visit of ArrowTour at Camp William B. Snyder in Haymarket, VA, on July 26, 2015.  ArrowTour is set to be a fun and informative afternoon event, with plenty of activities and information to intrigue visitors of all ages. 




Now is the time to renew your Lodge Membership for 2015.

"To be a member in Amangamek-Wipit Lodge and the OA you must be a registered scout or scouter and pay your lodge dues annually. A dues payment of $14 gives you an invite to all chapter/lodge events and a subscription to the quarterly Lodge Shark’s Tooth newsletter. Your OA ID number and BSA ID number will be printed at the top of your Sharks Tooth Newsletter.”

It is the 100th Anniversary of the OA and we will be celebrating all year long. While you can pay just your 2015 dues on-line at be sure to consider purchasing a Wipit Annual Passport to get access to all the Lodge events this year.


Your purchase of a Wipit Annual Passport will register you to participate in all the Lodge events during this anniversary year; 

  • Annual Lodge Banquet
  • Lodge Spring Fellowship 
  • Lodge Fall Fellowship
  • A special 2015 Annual Passport Patch

To purchase your passport visit 


Lodge Officers for 2015-2016

  • Lodge Chief: Jonathan Bjorson
  • Lodge Vice Chief Operations: Geoffrey Loughner
  • Lodge Vice Chief Administration & Communications: Ryan Raffensperger
  • Lodge Vice Chief Finance & Membership: Aaron Kassman
  • Mountain West Area Chief: Morgan Bentley
  • Montgomery Area Chief: Vacant
  • Virginia Central Area Chief: Nate Kidwell
  • Virginia South Area Chief: Stan Dobis
  • Three Rivers Area Chief: Nate Dudley





Last updated 6/19/2015

Upcoming Events
2015 Fall OA Goshen Fall Fellowship
Friday, September 18, 2015
OA Lodge 2015 dues payment
Thursday, October 01, 2015
Occoquan 2015 Fall Camporee 16-18 October 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Powhatan Webelos Crossover Ceremony
Tuesday, March 01, 2016

Recent Blog Activity
Vigil Nominations
Post by Bruce G. Andersen, Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Comments (1)   Subscribe
Welcome to the new lodge website
Post by Wipit Webmaster, Saturday, August 03, 2013
Comments (4)   Subscribe
 View All Blogs »

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal